Research Guides: Faculty Services: Diversions

Catch up on the news!

Cape Cod Times

Cape Cod Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Cape Cod Times from November 1998 to present.

The second option labelled "image" gives you a PDF of the entire daily paper!

The New York Times

New York Times daily paper (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Access nytimes.com and read and download unlimited articles from the daily paper! The first time you access, you will need to login using your my4Cs login credentials. You will then be prompted to create an account with nytimes.com using an email. Once you have created your account, you will be able to access the site using that account info.

The Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal Site License (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Use this link and follow the onscreen instructions to create a Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) account using your capecod.edu email. You will be prompted to login to my4Cs if you have not already done so. Once you have created your account, you can go directly to wsj.com to get access!

Stream a video!

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand - Over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments streamed on demand from Films for the Humanities, BBC, CBC, PBS and others. Subjects include humanities, science, business, health, technical education, careers and counseling. Watch an entire episode, or just one indexed segment keyed to your search.

Leisure Reading

Looking for a good book? Stop into the Wilkens Library today and check out our Leisure Reading Collection!

You can also view a list of the books available in the Wilkens Library catalog.

This growing collection of newer Fiction and Nonfiction books is located on the main floor of the library near the copier and circulation desk. The Leisure Reading collection consists of newer titles from authors such as David Baldacci, Jennifer Egan, Janelle Monáe, James Patterson, Lisa Scottoline, Tara M. Stingfellow, Charmaine Wilkerson, and more! The book circulate for our usual 3 weeks. If you are an avid public library user and have a request on one of these titles, stop by and pick it up (no more waiting!).

We have a suggestion box available for any recently published titles you think would make a good addition to the collection.

If there is a book you are looking for and don’t see anything in our collection, we can request books from other CLAMS libraries for you to pick up at the Wilkens Library!

Learn a new foreign language

Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language.

Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, and grammar resources, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Best of all, with mobile apps for iOS and Android devices, learners can enjoy the freedom to learn at home, in the library, or on the go.

Help with finding what to read next

NoveList Plus is a popular and comprehensive database specifically designed for readers, students, librarians, and book enthusiasts. Novelist can enhance your reading experience by providing valuable information, recommendations, and tools to help you discover and enjoy books that resonate with you.

Features include:

Book recommendations based on your reading preferences. It can help you discover new authors, genres, and titles that align with your interests.

Genre and theme exploration tools to find books that fit your preferences. This can be helpful when you're in the mood for a specific type of story.

Book summaries and reviews to help you decide if a book is worth reading before you commit to it.

Book series information including series order, upcoming releases, and related titles.