When linking to library resources, you want to make sure that what you are linking to will continue to work. To do this you will want to use the correct and/or persistent links to resources. You will almost NEVER want to copy and paste the URL that is in the address bar at the top of your browser webpage. These links will often not work once that current session of the browser is closed out. Your best bet is to use persistent links. This guide will show you how to locate and use the proper links for our resources. Use the links below to navigate to the instructions you need:
Always remember to test the links you are sharing to be sure they are working and going to the resource you are trying to share!
If you have any questions or issues in regards to links, please do not hesitate to contact the library at 774-330-4480 or refdesk@capecod.edu.
The Wilkens Library uses EZProxy for our off campus authentication. The majority of our resources (exceptions will be noted) use this method so that our students, faculty, and staff can have access to the library even when they are home, in the car, or at a coffee shop!
Unless otherwise noted, all of the links you share should have some part of capecod.idm.oclc.org in it. If the link you copied does not have this information you will need to add it to the link. To do this, simply add https://capecod.idm.oclc.org/login?url= directly in front of the link you copied (including the https:// of the copied link). Your new link should look something like this: https://capecod.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/capecod371064.
Always remember to make sure the links you are sharing do link back to the resource you want! If you have any questions or issues with linking, please reach out to the library at 774-330-4480 or by email at refdesk@capecod.edu.
To add a link to a specific library provided database, navigate to the A to Z Database list and find the database you want to link to. To the right of the database there is a share icon:
Copy the link in the popup and paste wherever you students will be accessing it:
One of the major database vendors we utilize at Cape Cod Community College is EBSCOhost. We subscribe to several subject databases through this vendor. Even though the content in each database is different, the interface is the same across the platform. Please note: Ebsco databases got a facelift! Your links shouldn't change but the look and feel of the database has changed.
Once you find an article you want to share with your students, you can do one of two things:
Another major vendor Cape Cod Community College uses for databases is Gale. These databases are part of a state wide database package provided by the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). Like our EBSCOhost databases, the content of the Gale databases covers a wide range of topics, but the interfaces all look very similar.
Once you find an article you want to share with your students, you can do one of two things:
Credo Reference is an excellent resource for general information on numerous topics. We often send students to Credo when they begin their research so they can get some foundational knowledge of their topics before diving deeper into their research. Credo Reference has over 1,200 full encyclopedia and reference materials. You can link to articles, full titles, or even just your search results. The process for each is the same:
Navigate to the page you want to share. At the top of the browser to the right click the option that says "Page Link" with a chain link image next to it:
This link will give you a pop up with the URL to copy to share with your students:
eBook Central is the Wilkens Library main source for eBooks. This database has over 200,000 academic eBooks available for research. The library also purchases access to titles to help support the curriculum where possible. However, linking to these titles can be a little tricky depending on if you are on or off campus when you get the link. Below are the instructions, but please reach out to the library if you need assistance or if you want to make sure that you are sharing the correctly formatted link.
PLEASE NOTE: The process of getting the link is the same whether you are on or off campus. The difference is if you are on campus when you get the share link, you will need to add our EZProxy information to the links before sharing it.
To get the shareable link, search for the book you wish to link to and click the title so that it brings you into the book's information. You should see publication and table of content information. On the left of the page, under the cover image, is an option to "Share Link to Book" with a chain link image:
This link will bring up a popup with a URL to the book:
The above example was taken while on campus. An easy way to tell if a link is from on campus or off campus is whether or not it includes some part (or all) of capecod.idm.oclc.org. You will see the above link does not include this information. What this means is that the above link will work only if the person is on campus trying to access it. We recommend that you add our proxy information to the beginning of your eBook Central links so that they can be accessed whether your students are on or off campus. To do this, simply add https://capecod.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning of the URL above. The final link should look like this:
https://capecod.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/capecod/detail.action?docID=565617
If you are off campus when you click the "Share Link to Book" option, then all you have to do is copy and paste that link wherever you are sharing it.
You can also share a link to a specific chapter of a book if you do not need your student to access the entire title. The process is similar to sharing a link to the full book. You will also need to make the proxy modifications if you get the link from on campus.
Navigate to the chapter you wish to share. At the top of the page, you will see a series of icons. One of these icons is a chain link:
This icon will bring up a pop up with the link you can copy:
The above example was taken while on campus. An easy way to tell if a link is from on campus or off campus is whether or not it includes some part (or all) of capecod.idm.oclc.org. You will see the above link does not include this information. What this means is that the above link will work only if the person is on campus trying to access it. We recommend that you add our proxy information to the beginning of your eBook Central links so that they can be accessed whether your students are on or off campus. To do this, simply add https://capecod.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning of the URL above. The final link should look like this:
https://capecod.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/capecod/reader.action?docID=565617&ppg=22
If you are off campus when you click the chain link icon, then all you have to do is copy and paste that link wherever you are sharing it.
Please remember to test your links from both on campus and off campus to make sure they are working as expected. Again, if you are having problems with this process, please reach out to the library staff!
Our subscription to Kanopy offers access to thousands of full length feature films and documentaries as well as a large selection of foreign, classic, and indie films. Providing direct links to films is an easy way to incorporate these films into your class curriculum. To share a link, first select the film you wish to share. Below the film's information click "Share" and copy the provided link: 
To embed a film into your Moodle shell, you will need to copy the embed code. This can be found by clicking "Share" and copying the code under "Embed This Video:" 
To support our film classes, the Wilkens Library has purchased year licenses to selected titles. These titles can be shared with your students by copying the link. Click the film from the list you want to share. At the bottom of the page, information about the film will popup. Click the "Share" drop down and select "Copy Direct Link." You can then add the link to Moodle: 
Academic Video Online (AVON) is a product from Alexander Street (we used to subscribe to another product from this vendor) and is our replacement for Films on Demand (FoD). Sharing access to these films is very similar to other streaming resources highlighted in this guide.
Find and select the video you want to share. This will bring you to a page with the video's information as well as a share option:
When you click on the share button, it will bring up a series of links on the bottom of the current page. Copy the permalink option:
To embed a video into Moodle, follow the above steps to get to the links. Under permalink is an embed code option:
