Research Guides: Student Services: Online Resources

Our Databases

The library has thousands of journals, magazines, e-books, images and films in our databases.

A-Z List of Databases
All of our databases listed by title.
Subject Research Guides
If you don't know which database to start with use a Subject Research Guide. The Subject Research Guides pull together all types of information about a particular subject or course of study.

Newspapers

New York Times daily paper (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Access nytimes.com and read and download unlimited articles from the daily paper! The first time you access, you will need to login using your my4Cs login credentials. You will then be prompted to create an account with nytimes.com using an email. Once you have created your account, you will be able to access the site using that account info.
Wall Street Journal Site License (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Use this link and follow the onscreen instructions to create a Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) account using your capecod.edu email. You will be prompted to login to my4Cs if you have not already done so. Once you have created your account, you can go directly to wsj.com to get access!
Cape Cod Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Cape Cod Times from November 1998 to present.

The second option labelled "image" gives you a PDF of the entire daily paper!

eBooks

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Academic eBooks available to read in your browser or to borrow on your mobile device.

Ebsco Full-Text Journal Finder

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
Use Full Text Finder to find out which database includes full text access to journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodical publications.

The Full Text Finder lists which journals we have, what years are available, and provides links to search or browse the publications.
Click on database name links and select an issue to browse or search the publication for your topic.
Want to find all of the publications we subscribe to on a given topic? Click Advanced Search and search by Subject.

The Economist

Economist This link opens in a new window
To access: Click link and follow on screen instructions to create an account with your capecod.edu email address

Founded in 1843 to support the cause of free trade, The Economist continues to produce journalism of sometimes radical opinion with a reverence for facts.

Independence
Editorial independence lies at the heart of The Economist. The constitution of the company does not permit any individual or organisation to gain a majority shareholding. The editor is appointed by trustees, who are independent of commercial, political and proprietorial influences.

Objectivity
The Economist has no by-lines. It is written anonymously because its collective voice and personality matter more than the identities of individual journalists. This ensures a continuity of tradition and consistency of view.

Topicality
The Economist constantly covers and curates the news. It publishes weekly in a magazine format and daily on its digital platforms.

Once you have created your account, you should be able to use your capecod.edu email address and the password you created to log directly in to https://www.economist.com/ (the above link is only needed for setting up an account). You can also use those login credentials to get access to the Economist app.

Off Campus Access to Online Resources

The key to using our online resources is a My4Cs. If you need to reset your My4Cs login, contact the HelpDesk: helpdesk@capecod.edu, or call 774-330-4004.

Databases that Require a Password:

If you need access to one of these databases, please contact the Reference Office at 774-330-4343 or email us at refdesk@capecod.edu for more information.

Micromedex

Databases Available Only On Campus

These databases are only available on campus at this time. We may be able to search them and send the information you require; contact the Reference Office at 774-330-4343 or email us at refdesk@capecod.edu for more information.

The Foundation Center