Research Guides: Nursing: Library Resources

Books and eBooks

CLAMS Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use the CLAMS catalog to search the Wilkens Library print collection, as well as the print collections of most of the public libraries on Cape Cod.

Essential Reference Books:

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
CREDO Reference is an online database of reference works that includes some great medical titles.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Academic eBooks available to read in your browser or to borrow on your mobile device.

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 by Michael W. Rabow; Stephen J. McPhee; Maxine A. Papadakis
Call Number: REF RC71 .A14
ISBN: 9781260117431
Additional circulating copies on 3rd floor
Nurses Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales by Marilynn E. Doenges, Mary Frances Moorhouse, and Alice C. Murr
ISBN: 9781719647670

Nursing Reference

Davis's comprehensive manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests with nursing implications by Van Leeuwen, Anne M.
Call Number: RB38.2 .V36 2023
ISBN: 9781719646123
Publication Date: 2023
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by Joyce J. Fitzpatrick
ISBN: 9780826133045
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
"This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today."
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Gale Cengage Learning Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9781410363206
Publication Date: 2017-12-07
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
Publication Date: 2020
"The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more."
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health
Publication Date: 2015
"The Gale Encyclopedia Of Senior Health: A Guide For Seniors And Their Caregivers presents authoritative, comprehensive information on all aspects of senior health."
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
ISBN: 9781719644822
Publication Date: 2021

Drug References

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Find drug information, check Drug or IV Compatability, print out Patient Handouts. Available as Apps-see the Mobile tab for more information

Medline Plus Drug Information
Basic drug and supplement information from the National Library of Medicine's Medline Plus

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9781719646406
Publication Date: 2022-05-18
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth
ISBN: 9780443121210
Publication Date: 2024

Streaming video and more

The Wilkens Library's Instructional Media Services offices has DVDs covering many different Nursing topics. You can search in the CLAMS Catalog to see what we have and drop by the Reference Office to use these materials in the library. Some classes assign films; these will be on Reserve in the IMS.

MedlinePlus Videos and Cool Tools
Surgery videos, tutorials on anatomy, terminology, and more!
Academic Video OnLine
A comprehensive video collection spanning a wide range of topics. Includes videos on nursing interventions, patient care and assessment and more.

Keep Current

NIH MedlinePlus: The Magazine
Subscribe to Medline Plus's Magazine for free.

Nursing Journals

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

NAHRS Selected List of Nursing Journals
Click here to download a list of Nursing Journals (Nursing and Allied Health Resources Section NAHRS) created by the Medical Library Association. You can use it to double check that titles you find in CINAHL or elsewhere are from excellent Nursing Journals.

For help with CINAHL, try

Brief video on how to find nursing journal artilces in CINAHL

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier index of Biomedical literature including dentistry, medicine, nursing and psychiatry. PubMed is the free, web based version which provides limited access to full text.
Medline This link opens in a new window
EBSCO MEDLINE is the same index as PubMed with links to our EBSCO content.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that provides full-text nursing & allied health journals, plus current and reliable personal health information.
Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
Use Full Text Finder to find out which database includes full text access to journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodical publications.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Health Sciences Journal collection from Elsevier. Includes Nursing Clinics of North America