Skip to Main Content

Citations

This guide contains information and resources on MLA, APA, Chicago, and IEEE citation styles.

What is Chicago Style?

Chicago citation style is a widely used referencing format in academic writing, particularly in the fields of history, social sciences, and humanities. It was developed by the University of Chicago Press and has two main variations: the Notes and Bibliography (NB) system and the Author-Date (AD) system.

  1. Notes and Bibliography (NB) System: In this style, sources are cited through the use of footnotes or endnotes, and a bibliography is provided at the end of the document. When citing a source for the first time, a full citation is given in the footnote or endnote. Subsequent references to the same source can use a shortened citation format.

    • The basic structure for a book citation in the NB system: Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page(s).

  2. Author-Date (AD) System: The AD system incorporates in-text citations using the author's last name and the publication year. The full publication details of the sources are then listed in the reference list at the end of the document.

    • The basic structure for a book citation in the AD system: Author's Last Name, First Name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Formatting Your Paper in Chicago Style

The basic format for a paper in Chicago style typically follows these general guidelines:

  1. Title Page (Optional): Include the title of the paper, your name, the course title, your instructor's name, and the date. Center-align the elements on the page.
  2.  Main Body: Use 1-inch margins on all sides of the paper. Use a legible font such as Times New Roman or Arial, size 12pt and double-space the entire document, including the bibliography and footnotes or endnotes. Page numbers are placed in the top right corner of each page.
  3. Footnotes or Endnotes: Footnotes or endnotes are used to cite sources and provide additional information. Footnotes appear at the bottom of the page where the citation or reference is made and endnotes are listed on a separate page after the main text and before the bibliography. Number each note consecutively throughout the paper, using superscript Arabic numerals. Ask your professor if you are unsure of which to use!
  4. Bibliography: Include a separate bibliography page listing all the sources cited in the paper. The bibliography should be sorted in alphabetical order by author's last name or title of source if no author is listed. Make sure you know which variation of Chicago Style you are supposed to use (check with your professor!) as there are some minor variations in what is included in each citation.
  5. In-text Citations: If you are using the NB system, use footnotes or endnotes to cite sources. The first citation includes full publication details, and subsequent citations use shortened formats. If you are using the AD system, use parenthetical in-text citations that include the author's last name and the publication year.

Chicago Style Citation Format

 

The formatting of citations in Chicago style varies depending on whether you are using the Notes and Bibliography (NB) system or the Author-Date (AD) system. Here are some examples of commonly cited sources in both formats:

  1. Books:
  • Notes and Bibliography (NB) system: Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page(s). Example: Jane Doe, History of Chicago (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2020), 25.
  • Author-Date (AD) system: Author's Last Name, First Name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. Example: Doe, Jane. 2020. History of Chicago. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
  1. Journal Article:
  • NB system: Author's First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page Range. Example: John Smith, "Urbanization and Social Change," Journal of Sociology 34, no. 2 (2019): 145-162.
  • AD system: Author's Last Name, First Name. Year. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue: Page Range. Example: Smith, John. 2019. "Urbanization and Social Change." Journal of Sociology 34, no. 2: 145-162.
  1. Website:
  • NB system: Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Webpage," Website Title, Publication Date or Date of Last Update, URL (accessed Access Date). Example: Emma Johnson, "How to Write a Great Essay," Writing Tips Today, March 15, 2023, www.writingtipstoday.com/how-to-write-a-great-essay (accessed July 27, 2023).
  • AD system: Author's Last Name, First Name. Year. "Title of Webpage." Website Title. Publication Date or Date of Last Update. URL. Example: Johnson, Emma. 2023. "How to Write a Great Essay." Writing Tips Today. March 15, 2023. www.writingtipstoday.com/how-to-write-a-great-essay.

Always check with your professor for the style and variation they want you to use in your assignments. For more information, check out the online resources below.

Adapted from a ChatGPT conversation: OpenAI, "ChatGPT," OpenAI, www.openai.com/chatgpt (accessed July 27, 2023).

Resources

There are thousands of resources available online to help with creating your Chicago style citations and formatting your papers. Below are some of the resources recommended by Wilkens Library staff.

Books and eBooks

Websites for Citations and Formatting Your Paper

Guides for Citing Primary Sources in Chicago Style