Research Guides: World Mythology: Mythology Websites

Google Scholar can be used to search for academic articles and books. Full text is listed on the right hand side as a link. On campus you will see links to the Wilkens Library collection as well as open sources held on the web.

Google Search Help
Google's own guide to using their search engine-short and to the point!

Myth Reference Sites

Encyclopedic websites with entries about gods, goddesses, heroes, monsters, and other mythological subjects.

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
Brewer is the first place to look for the meaning and origin of phrase and fable.
Encyclopedia Mythica - African Mythology
The Encyclopedia Mythica is an online encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legends. The present edition contains thousands of articles about deities and beings from all corners of the world, and new articles are added frequently. The information in the encyclopedia has been compiled from a great number of different and unique sources (books, journals and publications, oral traditions, etc.) into one, easily accessible website.

Mythology Sources

Excellent websites to find the original sources for myths.

Folklore and Mythology: Electronic Texts
An extensive collection of tales from around the world. The alphabetical listing is by author, country of origin, and categories (such as frog kings, nightmares, werewolf and witchcraft legends).
The Internet Sacred Text Archive
This site consists of "significant primary texts relating to religion and mythology."
Perseus Digital Library
Classical texts including the source material for many classical myths.