The library subscribes to over 100 resources to provide you with access to information at no cost. The resources listed on this page are just a small sampling of what we offer. Since most of our resources are specific to particular subjects, please check our A to Z Database List to try other resources!
You've received your assignment and are tasked with selecting a research topic. What will you choose? With so many options available, deciding on a topic can often be one of the most challenging aspects of the research process. It is generally recommended that you select a topic that you are passionate about or genuinely interested in learning more about.
If you're seeking suggestions, the library suggests exploring Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints and Gale in Context Global Issues. Both of these databases provide lists of topics that may assist you in selecting an engaging research topic.
Opposing Viewpoints focuses on topics that mainly affect the US, Canada, and Mexico.
Opposing Viewpoints List of Topic Pages
These topic pages encompass a broad array of sources, including Academic/Peer Reviewed articles, Viewpoint articles, News/Magazines, Primary Sources, and more, all covering the overarching topic. An essential feature of these pages, which you should certainly leverage, is the Overview Article located at the top. This provides a comprehensive understanding of the topic along with potential keywords and arguments. Please don't underestimate the value of this invaluable source of information!
While Opposing Viewpoints tends to focus on issues relating to North America, Global Issues (as you may have guessed) focuses on issues that affect the world.
Global Issues List of Topic Pages
These topic pages encompass a broad array of sources, including Academic/Peer Reviewed articles, Viewpoint articles, News/Magazines, Primary Sources, and more, all covering the overarching topic. An essential feature of these pages, which you should certainly leverage, is the Overview Article located at the top. This provides a comprehensive understanding of the topic along with potential keywords and arguments. Please don't underestimate the value of this invaluable source of information!
If you already have a topic in mind, explore Credo Reference. This resource provides a multitude of neutral and vetted sources to aid you in grasping your topic. Peruse the entries related to your topic to gain insight into:
Getting acquainted with your topic before delving into databases and other resources will assist you in pinpointing the information that will bolster your argument. This step is crucial in the research process!
While the other resources listed on this page offer valuable information and sources, it's important to note that they may not contain everything you need. You might have to explore additional databases during your research. If you're specifically seeking Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal Articles, the library suggests considering the following resources (remember, there are numerous other resources available on the A to Z Databases page you can explore too!):
If you are looking for a Book Source (remember you don't need to read the entire book, you can use just a chapter!), the library recommends:
