Research Guides: Climate Change: Massachusetts & Cape Cod Resources

Highlights

MA Climate Change Assessment
The MA Climate Change Assessment is a statewide analysis detailing how Massachusetts people, environments, and infrastructure may be affected by climate change and related hazards through the end of the century. This assessment will directly inform the first five-year update to the State Hazard Mitigation and Climate Adaptation Plan (SHMCAP) that will be released in Fall 2023.
Massachusetts Clean Energy and Climate Plan for 2050
The Clean Energy and Climate Plan for 2050 provides details on the actions the Commonwealth will undertake to put the Commonwealth on a pathway to achieve Net Zero greenhouse gas emissions in 2050.
Massachusetts State Climate Summary
Published in 2022 by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Inaugural Boston Climate Progress Report
The first Boston Climate Progress Report, published in November 2022. The report, to be updated every two years, examines Boston’s progress toward achieving net-zero emissions by 2050, its resilience to future climate disruptions, and the equity of Boston's climate response.
Cape Cod Climate Action Plan
Prepared by Cape Cod Commission Staff July 2021, part of the Cape Cod Climate Initiative.
Hanging in the Balance: Protecting Cape Cod's Natural Resources
Hanging in the Balance: An Urgent Call for Protecting Cape Cod’s Natural Resources is a report by the Association to Preserve Cape Cod (APCC) that provides a comprehensive analysis of key natural resources on Cape Cod. The report examines past and present impacts to natural resources, current threats, case studies, and recommended actions that promote protection, preservation and restoration of the region’s most important resource areas.
New England’s Climate Imperative: Our Forests as a Natural Climate Solution: A Highstead Report
A 2022 report from Highstead explores how New England’s forests are an important climate solution and explores five pathways to increase forests’ impact.

Massachusetts Climate Change Related Reports & Plans

MA Climate Change Assessment
The MA Climate Change Assessment is a statewide analysis detailing how Massachusetts people, environments, and infrastructure may be affected by climate change and related hazards through the end of the century. This assessment will directly inform the first five-year update to the State Hazard Mitigation and Climate Adaptation Plan (SHMCAP) that will be released in Fall 2023.
Massachusetts State Climate Summary 2022
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's State Climate Summaries consist of observed and projected climate change information.
Massachusetts Clean Energy and Climate Plan for 2050
The Clean Energy and Climate Plan for 2050 provides details on the actions the Commonwealth will undertake to put the Commonwealth on a pathway to achieve Net Zero greenhouse gas emissions in 2050.
Massachusetts Integrated State Hazard Mitigation and Climate Adaptation Plan - 2018
This plan comprehensively integrates climate change impacts and adaptation strategies with hazard mitigation planning.
What Climate Change Means for Massachusetts - 2016
EPA's August 2016 report.
Massachusetts State Wildlife Action Plan (SWAP) - 2015
SWAP presents the 570 Species of Greatest Conservation Need in the Commonwealth, the 24 types of habitat that support these species, and the actions necessary to conserve them. Chapter 5 of the plan covers climate change and Massachusetts species of greatest conservation need.
Massachusetts Climate Change Adaptation Report - 2011
Prepared by Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs and the Massachusetts Climate Change Adaptation Advisory Committee, this report was the first broad overview of climate change as it affects Massachusetts, the impacts of this change, vulnerabilities of multiple sectors ranging from natural resources, infrastructure, public health, and the economy.
Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary Final Management Plan and Environmental Assessment
Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary's management plan guides activities in the sanctuary by identifying priority management issues and proposing sets of actions to address them. The most revised management plan was published in August 2023 and includes 15 action plans that address current and emerging management needs, including a climate change action plan.

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Websites

Resilient Massachusetts
Gateway to data and information relevant to climate change adaptation and mitigation across Massachusetts. Provides local climate change science and decision support tools that enhance climate resilience for local planners, practitioners, policy-makers, and the public.
Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs (EEA)
EEA seeks to protect, preserve, and enhance the Commonwealth’s environmental resources while ensuring a clean energy future for the state’s residents.
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (MASSDEP)
MassDEP's mission is to protect and enhance the Commonwealth's natural resources - air, water, and land - to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of all people, and to ensure a clean and safe environment for future generations.
Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF)
The Division of Marine Fisheries manages the state’s commercial and recreational saltwater fisheries and oversees other services that support the marine environment and fishing communities.
Massachusetts Environmental Public Health Tracking
Massachusetts information from the CDC’s National Environmental Public Health Tracking.
Massachusetts Green Communities Division (GCD)
The Green Communities Division (GCD) provides grants, technical assistance, and local support from Regional Coordinators to help municipalities reduce energy use and costs by implementing clean energy projects in municipal buildings, facilities, and schools.
Massachusetts Municipal Vulnerability Preparedness (MVP)
MVP grant program provides support for cities and towns in Massachusetts to identify climate hazards, assess vulnerabilities, and develop action plans to improve resilience to climate change.
Massachusetts Office of Coastal Zone Management (CZM)
CZM is the lead policy, planning, and technical assistance agency on coastal and ocean issues within the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs (EEA) and implements the state’s coastal program under the federal Coastal Zone Management Act.
Massachusetts State Wildlife Action Plan (SWAP)
SWAP presents the 570 Species of Greatest Conservation Need in the Commonwealth, the 24 types of habitat that support these species, and the actions necessary to conserve them. Chapter 5 of the plan covers climate change and Massachusetts species of greatest conservation need.
Recycling & Solid Waste Data for Massachusetts Cities & Towns
Information compiled by the Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP).

Cape Cod Climate Change

Cape Cod Climate Initiative
Cape Cod Climate Initiative is a community-focused, information based effort to inform a strategic framework and collaborative approach to address the region’s contributions to and threats from climate change. Includes their report: Cape Cod Climate Action Plan.
Cape Cod Climate Change Collaborative
The Cape Cod Climate Change Collaborative is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization whose mission is to reduce ways in which the Cape & Islands region contributes to climate change and to protect the region from its potentially devastating impacts.
Association to Preserve Cape Cod (APCC)
Founded in 1968 by a group of concerned citizens to oppose an Army Corps of Engineers’ proposal to turn Nauset Marsh into a deep-water port, for over 50 years, APCC has helped restore natural resources in every town, procured better environmental policy at the county, state and federal level, and brought in millions of dollars to improve, protect and preserve the Cape.
Cape Cod Commission
The Cape Cod Commission is the regional land use planning, economic development, and regulatory agency created in 1990 to serve the citizens and 15 towns of Barnstable County, Massachusetts. The Commission's interdisciplinary work covers a broad range of topics, addressing Cape Cod's needs in land use, transportation, economic development, GIS, natural resources, and more.
Cape Cod Coastal Planner
The Cape Cod Coastal Planner is a communication and decision support tool intended to educate users on the climate change hazards impacting Cape Cod's coastline, the adaptation strategies available to address them, and implications for local infrastructure and ecosystems.
Cape Cod National Seashore Massachusetts - Climate Change
Cape Cod Cooperative Extension
The mission of Cape Cod Cooperative Extension is to improve the health and well-being of youth, families, and communities; conserve and enhance natural and marine resources, and strengthen agriculture and food systems.
Cape Cod Water Resources Restoration Project
The Cape Cod Water Resources Restoration Project is a watershed-wide effort to restore fish passages, remediate stormwater runoff to protect shellfish beds and restore degraded salt marshes.
State of the Waters: Cape Cod
The State of the Waters: Cape Cod is an annual assessment of the Cape’s water quality. Learn about the Cape’s water quality and what can be done to address water pollution and achieve clean water.

New England

New England Climate Adaptation Project (NECAP)
NECAP tested the use of role-play simulations, or “games,” to help community members come together to discuss and catalyze action around managing climate change risks in four New England communities.
New England’s Climate Imperative: Our Forests as a Natural Climate Solution: A Highstead Report
A 2022 report from Highstead explores how New England’s forests are an important climate solution and explores five pathways to increase forests’ impact.
The Northeast Climate Adaptation Science Center (NE CASC)
NE CASC is part of a network of nine Climate Adaptation Science Centers managed by the U.S. Geological Survey National Climate Adaptation Science Center. They work with natural and cultural resource managers to gather the scientific information and build the tools needed to help fish, wildlife, and ecosystems adapt to the impacts of climate change.
New England Forestry Foundation (NEFF)
NEFF helps the people of New England to sustain their way of life, protect forest wildlife habitat and ecosystem services, and mitigate and adapt to climate change.
New England’s Climate Imperative: Our Forests as a Natural Climate Solution: A Highstead Report
A 2022 report from Highstead, a regional conservation non-profit, explores how New England’s forests are an important climate solution and explores five pathways to increase forests’ impact.
CDC Climate and Health - Regional Health Effects - Northeast
CDC’s Climate and Health Program supports state, tribal, local, and territorial public health agencies as they prepare for the health impacts of a changing climate.
USDA Northeast Climate Hub
The Climate Hubs and their partners support USDA’s Climate Adaptation and Resilience Plan connecting science and practice through place-based resources.

Additional Organizations

Massachusetts Ecosystem Climate Adaptation Network
Mass ECAN - is a community of practice for climate adaptation practitioners and researchers who are interested in ecosystem resilience and natural resources conservation. The goal of Mass ECAN is to build community, increase knowledge sharing, and foster collaboration among climate adaptation practitioners and researchers interested in ecosystem resilience and natural resources conservation across Massachusetts.
UMASS-Amherst-Center for Agriculture, Food, and the Environment (CAFE)
CAFE at the University of Massachusetts Amherst integrates research and outreach education in agriculture, food systems and the environment. See their climate initiatives lead by UMass Extension.
Mass Audubon - Clean Energy & Climate Change
Mass Audubon is the largest nature-based conservation organization in New England.
Water Resources Research Center - UMASS Amherst
The Water Resources Research Center supports research, education, and outreach on water resources issues of state, regional, and national importance as part of the national system of institutes. The Center has developed several key guidance documents for state management of water resources.