Research Guides: Psychology: PSY 214 Psychology Research Methods

Find Psychology Articles

You can search the databases for a particular type of study, for example, by including terms like "experimental study", "quasi-experimental" and "correlational research."

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Research Assistance from the Wilkens Library

PLEASE NOTE the library will observe an intersession schedule Thursday, July 3rd-Sunday July 6th:

July 3rd: 8am-4:30pm
July 4th, 5th, and 6th: CLOSED

Summer Semester Hours

(beginning Monday, June 2nd)
Monday-Thursday: 8am-8pm
Friday: 8am-4:30pm
Saturday: 9am-1pm
Sundays: 1pm-5pm

Upcoming Library Building Closure

The Wilkens Library Building will be closed for construction work Friday, July 18th through Thursday, July 31st. Remote library services will still be available following our regular summer session schedule. Library staff will be available on site in the Lorusso Tech Building (number 9) in Room Tech 102 for any in person assistance that is needed. Due to staffing, in person coverage will follow a different schedule which will be released soon.

Please note the Nickerson Archives hours differ from those of the Wilkens Library. For current hours and the archivist's contact information, please check the Nickerson Archives website.

Please check the Wilkens Library webpage for updates and further information: https://www.capecod.edu/library/.

Where to find research assistance:

Stop by the library during the above hours
Email the Reference Librarians at refdesk@capecod.edu
Email a specific librarian: Tim, Jessica, Rebekah, Lisa.
Call the Reference Desk: 774-330-4343
Chat with the library is available on the college's webpage: https://www.capecod.edu/library
Librarians are also available by appointment via Zoom

Undergraduate Psychology Research Journals

Browse issues here for ideas and examples of different types of studies. All of these journals include undergraduate research.

Journal of Psychological Inquiry
"Presenting the results of one’s scholarship through a printed medium requires the development of formal, written communication skills, which makes students more attractive to employers and admissions committees for graduate and professional training. Because modeling can facilitate learning, showing students what their peers have accomplished should encourage ever widening circles of students to become engaged in, and excited about, research. With all that in mind, the Journal of Psychological Inquiry (JPI) exists to illustrate the high quality of undergraduates’ scholarly work, promote the refinement of research and written communication skills, and increase students’ success in their professional lives following graduation."
PSI CHI JOURNAL
"Because Psi Chi includes members across the entire field of psychology, this quarterly journal accepts empirical manuscripts from any subdiscipline in psychology. This includes but is not limited to research in social, clinical, experimental, gender, personality, cognitive, diversity, health, counseling, developmental, and educational psychology. .. Undergraduate, graduate, and faculty submissions are welcome year-round."
Undergraduate Journal of Psychology (Archives)
"UJOP offers undergraduate students an opportunity to receive recognition for their engagement in scientific discovery. Authors can submit various types of articles for submission, provided articles report on timely topics in Psychology or Psychology-related fields. Interdisciplinary work is greatly valued and encouraged! Each manuscript makes a valuable contribution to science."

Other Resources

Research Methods in Psychology
"Research Methods in Psychology is intended to provide a fundamental understanding of the basics of experimental research in the psychological sciences. Research Methods in Psychology adapted by Michael G. Dudley is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license."

Handbook of Psychology, Research Methods in Psychology by Irving B. Weiner, John A. Schinka, and Wayne F. Velicer
ISBN: 9781118286289

Publication Date: 2012