Research Guides: ENV 163 Geographic Information Systems I (GIS): Research Resources

Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.

Newspapers

Cape Cod Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Cape Cod Times from November 1998 to present.

Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The Boston Globe from 1980 to present.

New York Times daily paper (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Access nytimes.com and read and download unlimited articles from the daily paper! The first time you access, you will need to login using your my4Cs login credentials. You will then be prompted to create an account with nytimes.com using an email. Once you have created your account, you will be able to access the site using that account info.

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
Use Full Text Finder to find out which database includes full text access to journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodical publications.

The Full Text Finder lists which journals we have, what years are available, and provides links to search or browse the publications.
Click on database name links and select an issue to browse or search the publication for your topic.
Want to find all of the publications we subscribe to on a given topic? See Browse By Discipline on the homepage.

If the full text of an article is not available in one of our databases, see Interlibrary Loan.

Science Databases

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive range of science journal, news, reference works, AV resources and interactive exercises supporting high school curricula and university coursework.

Gale In Context Databases include curated hubs of information on single topics are excellent research starting points. Each topic contains an overview followed by organized content on the topic including reference materials, articles, videos, etc.).

Note -If you do not see a topic page related to something of interest, you can run a basic or advanced search within Gale In Context: Global Issues and Opposing Viewpoints to view any available results (it doesn’t mean content on that topic is unavailable).

Science Database This link opens in a new window
A growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1,600 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature. Supports the needs of students studying applied and general sciences.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Health Sciences Journal collection from Elsevier.

Environmental Database Resources

Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
From climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Targeted collection of journals and reference books covering environmental issues policies from scientific, government and industry perspectives.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive range of science journal, news, reference works, AV resources and interactive exercises supporting high school curricula and university coursework.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers a range of perspectives on important issues to help critical-thinking skills using reference, periodical, news, primary and multimedia sources.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Health Sciences Journal collection from Elsevier.