Research Guides: HON 200 Honors Colloquium Searching for Answers: Medieval Torture to Today’s Investigation Techniques: Articles and Journal Research Resources

Academic Journals

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) and Academic OneFile (Gale) are databases that specialize in academic journals. Academic Search Complete and Academic OneFile are a good starting point whenever you are looking for Academic/Peer Reviewed Journals or Scholarly Sources.

Periodical-based content typically falls into one of three main categories: Academic Journal, Trade Publication, or Magazine. Multiple factors can affect the designation. Read this helpful handout from EBSCO to understand the difference.

What's the Difference? Academic Journals vs. Trade Publications vs. Magazines
Periodical-based content typically falls into one of three main categories: Academic Journal, Trade Publication, or Magazine. Multiple factors can affect the designation. Read this helpful handout from EBSCO to understand the difference.

Academic Search Complete
This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

Advanced Search Video Tutorial

EBSCO's - Top 5 Searching Strategies
Learn how to create better searches in EBSCO databases with Boolean Operators, Truncation, Wildcard, Field Searching and Proximity Searching.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Gale Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.

Psychology Journals & Articles

Each of these collections has different content. Some ideas for better/different searches:

Try using the Subject search option in addition to keyword searching. Just click Subject in the top menu of Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection or select Subject from the pull down menu to the right of the search box in Psychology Collection
Check Full Text to find only the articles available in the database.
Check Scholarly Journal Articles (in Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection) or Peer Reviewed (in Psychology Collection) to limit your search to only peer-reviewed psychology journal sources.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.

War and Terrorism

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)
A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.

Military and Intelligence

Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile)
Both the historian and reporter on the frontline will find useful information in this collection, composed of content from over 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.

History Journals & Articles

History Reference Source
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
World History (Gale in Context)
Covers nearly 5,000 years to chronicle the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras. Rare primary sources combine with reliable references to put content into context for every learner.
U.S. History (Gale in Context)
Primary and secondary history sources combined with the media-rich selection.. Find comprehensive coverage of the most-studied topics, from the arrival of Vikings in North America 1,000 years ago to Vietnam, Watergate and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Current Events

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Offers a range of perspectives on important issues to help critical-thinking skills using reference, periodical, news, primary and multimedia sources.
Global Issues (Gale in Context)
Global viewpoints, reference, periodicals, and multimedia for what's happening in the world today and why.