Research Guides: ENL 102 Veninger: Databases and Resources

Literary Databases

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, overviews or 75,000 frequently studied works, and over 30,000 poems, short stories and plays. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select, an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers.

Put quotes around your author's name or a title to search for that exact phrase
You can use the Source Types options to limit to Literary Criticism
Try Browse Works or Browse Authors to find everything the database has on a particular author or work

History Databases

U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary history sources combined with the media-rich selection.. Find comprehensive coverage of the most-studied topics, from the arrival of Vikings in North America 1,000 years ago to Vietnam, Watergate and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Multidisciplinary databases that include history

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers a range of perspectives on important issues to help critical-thinking skills using reference, periodical, news, primary and multimedia sources.

Social Science Databases

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

Newspapers

Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The Boston Globe from 1980 to present.
Cape Cod Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Cape Cod Times from November 1998 to present.
New York Times daily paper (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Access nytimes.com and read and download unlimited articles from the daily paper! The first time you access, you will need to login using your my4Cs login credentials. You will then be prompted to create an account with nytimes.com using an email. Once you have created your account, you will be able to access the site using that account info.
Wall Street Journal Site License (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Use this link and follow the onscreen instructions to create a Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) account using your capecod.edu email. You will be prompted to login to my4Cs if you have not already done so. Once you have created your account, you can go directly to wsj.com to get access!

Film Databases

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos in various topics and genres.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand - Over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments streamed on demand from Films for the Humanities, BBC, CBC, PBS and others. Subjects include humanities, science, business, health, technical education, careers and counseling. Watch an entire episode, or just one indexed segment keyed to your search.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly articles and book citation, using the same type of search used in a regular Google search. Not all of the books and articles you can find using Google Scholar are available full-text; for help getting access to them, please contact one of the librarians.

Google Books

If you are looking for a book resource, you might be able to find some ebooks through Google Books. Try a search below!