Research Guides: Business: General Business Sources

The Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal Site License (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Use this link and follow the onscreen instructions to create a Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) account using your capecod.edu email. You will be prompted to login to my4Cs if you have not already done so. Once you have created your account, you can go directly to wsj.com to get access!

Choose "Business" to find:

Articles on Management
Columns like "Heard on the Street.“
News on fifteen industries including financial services, retail, media & marketing, entrepreneurship, law and health care.

Choose "Markets" to find:

Financial news
"Market Data" for stocks, bonds, commodities, and currencies.

The New York Times

New York Times daily paper (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Access nytimes.com and read and download unlimited articles from the daily paper! The first time you access, you will need to login using your my4Cs login credentials. You will then be prompted to create an account with nytimes.com using an email. Once you have created your account, you will be able to access the site using that account info.

Business coverage includes breaking news and analysis on business and the economy, including the latest news in technology, stock markets, media and finance.

Business Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Company Profiles
Browse and search for MarketLine Company Reports which include information on public and private global company profiles, top competitors, major products and services, locations and subsidiaries, SWOT analysis for top 1200+ companies and more.
SWOT Analyses
Browse and search for SWOT reports to learn the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats of a company (SWOT).
Country Reports
Get information on a country's political climate, economic condition, government spending, gross domestic product of the region hosting the company you are searching.

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Use Gale OneFile: Business to search nearly 4,000 leading business & trade publications.

Business Trade Publications & Magazines

Fast Company
Provides information which empowers innovators to challenge convention and create the future of business.
Forbes
Forbes is an American business magazine published eight times a year, it features articles on finance, industry, investing, and marketing topics. Forbes also reports on related subjects such as technology, communications, science, politics, and law.
Fortune
Fortune is an American multinational business magazine.
Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review is a general management magazine.
Inc.
Presents articles on financial & personnel management, marketing, administration, sales and operations for executives & managers of small to mid-sized companies.

Massachusetts Newspapers

Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The Boston Globe from 1980 to present.
Cape Cod Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Cape Cod Times from November 1998 to present.

Sources for Scholary/Peer Reviewed Journals

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

Academic Search Premier and Academic OneFile are databases that specialize in academic journals. Academic Search Premier and Academic OneFile are a good starting point whenever you are looking for Academic/Peer Reviewed Journals or Scholarly Sources.

Periodical-based content typically falls into one of three main categories: Academic Journal, Trade Publication, or Magazine. Multiple factors can affect the designation. Read this helpful handout from EBSCO to understand the difference.

What's the Difference? Academic Journals vs. Trade Publications vs. Magazines

Search CLAMS

CLAMS Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use the CLAMS catalog to search the Wilkens Library print collection, as well as the print collections of most of the public libraries on Cape Cod.

Searching the CLAMS catalog

To begin your search, enter your search terms and use the dropdown menus to target your search.
Narrow your results with a variety of filters.

Signing into your library account

In the Wilkens Library Catalog, Click SIGN IN. Enter your library barcode (the number on the bottom of your 4Cs ID) and the last 4 digits of your phone number on file. If the PIN/Password does not work. Click Reset My PIN/Password.

Requesting materials

Request materials (books, DVDs, magazines etc.) from any CLAMS library by clicking Place Hold. Enter your library barcode (the number on the bottom of your 4Cs ID) and the last 4 digits of your phone number on file.

Current Issues Databases and Websites

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers a range of perspectives on important issues to help critical-thinking skills using reference, periodical, news, primary and multimedia sources.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Global viewpoints, reference, periodicals, and multimedia for what's happening in the world today and why.

The Pew Research Center
Polls that cover social and demographic trends as well as opinions on current issues.

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search the majority of Gale databases at one time with a single search. A good option if you are not sure where to begin.

Business

Off Campus Access?

Lisa Gagnon

Research Assistance from the Wilkens Library

Please check the Wilkens Library webpage for updates and further information: https://www.capecod.edu/library/.

Where to find research assistance: