Research Guides: Literary Criticism Sources: Databases for Literary Research

Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library (BPL) provides access to additional resources and databases to all residents of Massachusetts. To access these resources, you will need a BPL ecard which you can get here: BPL eCard Registration. Once you have an ecard, use that number and the pin you set to get access!

BPL's Literature, Books, and Reading Databases: This page contains links to BPL's various resources on literature and literary criticism.
JSTOR: Full-text articles from hundreds of scholarly journals from the mid-19^th century to the early 21^st century covering a wide range of subjects, including complete runs of many historical journals.
OmniFile Full Text Select: Full-text journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, including ethnic studies, women’s studies, history, and more.

Literary Databases

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, overviews or 75,000 frequently studied works, and over 30,000 poems, short stories and plays. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select, an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers.

Put quotes around your author's name or a title to search for that exact phrase
You can use the Source Types options to limit to Literary Criticism
Try Browse Works or Browse Authors to find everything the database has on a particular author or work