Skip to main content

PSY208: Principles of Counseling and Crisis Intervention: Counseling Journals

How to find counseling journals

Finding Journals by Title

Use our Full Text Finder to search a list of the titles of the publications we subscribe to, both print and online.

A few tips on how to use the A-Z list to find counseling and crisis intervention titles:

  • The Full Text Finder lists what journals we have, what years are available, and provides links to search or browse the publications.
  • Don't know the title of a journal? Try searching "Counseling" or "Crisis" or "Crisis Intervention" to find titles that contain those words
  • You can use a truncation symbol (*) at the end of your word to get all words that start with your term.  For example, search Traum* to find any title that contains Trauma, Traumatic, or Traumatize.
  • Click on database name links and select an issue to browse or search the publication for your topic.

Psychology Databases

 

  • You can limit your search to Full Text to find only the articles that are available complete in the database.
  • Check the Scholarly Journal Articles box to limit your search to only peer-reviewed psychology journal sources.

The Gale Psychology Collection has fewer articles than EBSCO's Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection but it has a more user friendly search interface.

  • Check the Full Text box to find articles that are available in the database
  • Check the Peer-Reviewed box to limit your search to Peer Reviewed Journals

 Subject searches can limit your search to articles focused on a specific subject.  Below are some good choices to get your started in the databases:

  • Counseling
  • Counseling Psychology
  • Counselors
  • Alcoholism Counseling
  • Cross Cultural Counseling
  • Divorce Counseling
  • Drug Abuse Counseling
  • Family Counseling
  • Grief Counseling
  • Group Counseling
  • Hotlines (Counseling)
  • Marriage Counseling
  • Mental Health Counseling
  • Peer Counseling
  • Youth Counseling

Off Campus Access?

You can access most of our databases off campus using the a library barcode.  If you need a barcode, bring your ID to the front desk and we will be happy to give you one!