Skip to main content

HON200 Climate Change: Adapt or Die: Databases

A guide to resources on Climate Change for Professors Ruane and Forest's HON200 class.

EBSCOhost Databases

GreenFile:  Articles on the environment and "green" topics

Academic Search Premier:  Articles from Academic journals in all disciplines

Tips for EBSCOhost Databases

  • Click on Subject Terms to search the Database's subject directory. All articles within the database are assigned one or more subjects.
  • Click on the Full Text box to limit your results to articles that are available immediately.
  • Check the  Peer Reviewed  box for Peer Reviewed articles Additional limits are available in the left hand column of your results.
  • Narrow your search by date, article type, additional subjects, and more!
  • If you cannot find a subject term that relates to your topic try a keyword search and see what subjects show up in the left hand column of your results.

Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context functions is similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context, but with an international focus, including more articles from international sources like newspapers from many different countries.  The Issues and Topics pages include many on Climate Change, focusing either on regions or more limited topics such as Greenhosue Gases and Climate Change Mitigation.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an excellent database for issue and argumentative papers.  Try a search in the box above.  Look for Topics Pages.  Each Topics Page gathers together:

  • Viewpoints:  Editorial content and opinion pieces
  • News, Magazines, Academic Journals:  Articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals
  • Reference:  Information gathered from reference books such as encyclopedias and dictionaries
  • Statistics:  Statistical information, generally in charts and tables
  • Primary Sources:  Letters, interviews, transcripts or hearings and meetings, laws, and more
  • Websites:  Websites selected for their relevance to the topic
  • Interactive Maps: Maps based on the topic
  • Audio and Video:  Generally from radio and television news sources such as NPR and NBC
  • Images

Search results are also broken into these categories.  Click on the Issues tab in the top left of the screen to browse through Issues.  Two Issues pages of interest are Climate Change and Global Warming.

Off Campus Access?

You can access most of our databases off campus using the a library barcode.  If you need a barcode, bring your ID to the front desk and we will be happy to give you one!

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection


You can use Gale Power Search to search the Environmental Studies and Policies Collection, a collection of over 700 journals and 6 reference titles. The collection is available to any resident of Massachusetts with a library card.